University of Limpopo (UL)


The University of Limpopo is the result of a merger between the former Medical University of Southern Africa and the University of the North, which merger occurred on 01 January 2005. The Medical University of Southern Africa (MEDUNSA) was established in 1976 to provide tertiary education and training facilities to the educationally disadvantaged in the fields of Medicine, Allied Health and Nursing Sciences, and Dentistry intended to meet the health needs of the country.


The University of Limpopo aims to be a world-class African university, which responds to education, research and community needs of our society through partnerships and knowledge generation, continuing the tradition of empowerment.

The University

University of Limpopo embraces internationalisation as a strategic priority. Consequently, the core business of the international office is to facilitate all facets on internationalisation. And internationalisation is perceived by the University as a systematic and dynamic strategy that aims to turn higher education into being a more responsive to the challenges related to the globalisation of societies through infusing an international dimension into the learning, teaching, research, curriculum development, recruitment of international students and staff members as well as the service functions of the University.

Faculties at the University of Limpopo:

Faculty of Health Sciences
Faculty of Humanities
Faculty of Science and Agriculture
Faculty of Management and Law

University of Limpopo (UL)


Coordinator: Dr. Hlulani Mabasa