Tshwane University of Technology (TUT)


UT was established on 1 January 2004, with the merging of the former Technikon Northern Gauteng, Technikon North-West and Technikon Pretoria. TUT annually enrols approximately 60 000 students. Its student body is one of the most demographically representative in the country in terms of both race and gender, reflecting the Rainbow Nation in all its diversity. With almost 22 per cent of contact students accommodated in residences, the University is by far the largest residential higher education institution in Southern Africa.


The Mission of TUT:

  • Offering a portfolio of relevant, recognised and career-focused programmes
  • Producing well rounded graduates who are attuned to the needs of the economy
  • Being a research hub responsive to the challenges of the continent
  • Acting as an incubator for postgraduate study in clearly defined areas of strength
  • Generating, integrating and applying knowledgeto stimulate socio-economic development
  • Partnering communities in sustainable development
  • Being student-centred and quality-driven in

The University

TUT is truly an institution in service of the Southern African community. One of its key focuses is, therefore, the economic and social development of the Southern African region. In its quest to promote knowledge and technology, it provides the market with a career-focused workforce. It also aims at making a significant contribution to creating sustainable economic growth that will impact on the standard of living of all of the region's people.

Faculties at TUT:

Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment
Faculty of Science
Faculty of Humanities
Faculty of Management Sciences
Faculty of Information and Communication Technology
Faculty of The Arts
Faculty of Economics and Finance

Tshwane University of Technology (TUT)


Institutional Coordinator: Dr. A P. Nevhutalu

Project Coordinator: Ms. Violet Marape

All queries to be submitted to the project coordinator.