View and download the GUIDELINES FOR APPLICANTS here!

Erasmus Mundus EU-SATURN (EUropean - South African programme in TUning for Regional Needs in higher education) is a mobility programme from the European Union coordinated by the University of Groningen, the Netherlands. The co-coordinator on the South African side is the University of the Free State at Bloemfontein. EU-SATURN provides scholarships for South African PhDs and staff to spend a period of study/research at one of the European consortium universities.

Degree Types

EU-SATURN offers mobility scholarships for PhD (6 and 10 months) and staff positions (1 month). Regular financial assistance will be provided as well as help with transport, insurance and applications for succesful applicants at all levels.

For the specifics of each of the study programmes offered by the eight European partners, please consult the information available under the section "Academic Fields". Should you have questions, please do not hesitate to contact the participating universities' institutional coordinators.

Everything You Need to Know

When can I apply?

The application period will be open until the 7 June 2015.

Am I elegible?

There are two eligible Target Groups with a specified number of scholarships available to each. When applying, make sure you apply for the right category so that you may prove eligibility for the EU Saturn scholarship.

Target Group 1:

Students and staff registered in one of the Partner Institutions of the EU Saturn programme. If you are registered at one of the following insititutes, then you may apply for an EU Saturn scholarship:

University of the Free State (co-coordinator)
Stellenbosch University
Tshwane University of Technology
University of Cape Town
University of Fort Hare
University of Johannesburg
University of Limpopo
University of the Western Cape
University of the Witwatersrand

Target Group 2: These scholarships are for South African nationals who not currently registered with one of the partner organisations. If you are a student in another higher education institute, then you may also be eligible for an EU Saturn scholarship.

The following institutions, among others, are available for TG2 scholarships:
University of KwaZulu-Natal
Cape Peninsula University of Technology
North-West University
University of Pretoria
Rhodes University
University of South Africa
University of Venda
Walter Sisulu University
University of Zululand
Central University of Technology
Durban University of Technology
Mangosuthu University of Technology
Vaal University of Technology


If you have any questions regarding eligibilty, please contact us for more details.


Please note that applications can be submitted in English or the language of the host institution. For most universities it is not necessary to have knowlegde of the national language in case you are applying to an English-language programme in a non-English speaking country. Research is carried out in English and classes are taught in English. The majority of programmes available for the EU SATURN programme are taught exclusively in English.